Astbury Village

Sir William Brereton and his followers made Astbury their headquarters during the siege of Biddulph Hall. They are accused of stabling their horses in the pews and damaging the windows and screens.

It has also been said that they objected to the organ which they removed and buried in a field afterwards called “Organ Close”. The Church and Churchyard contain many memorials connected with various well-known Cheshire families.

  • A picturesque location
  • Alot of History
  • A great starting point for visiting the County of Cheshire

Allen & Grace Smith

Current Landlords

The Name & the Infamous Ghost

Amongst them the Moretons, the Davenports, the Venables, the Mainwarings, the Shakerleys, the Breretons and the Wilbrahams. The Venables were the propertiers of Astbury 500 years ago and when it was afterwards bestowed on the Abbey of St. Werburgh they tried to regain it by every means in their power.

The name “Egerton” was taken from a famous family who once resided in the village, they were the owners of the manors of Newbold and Astbury. The pub dates back to the early 1700s. The Egerton Arms is one of the few pubs in the area that is reputed to have it’s own resident ghost. Some of it’s staff over the years have had some interesting accounts or so the story goes.

The Licensees

  • 1848 – Charles Wilson
  • 1860 – Thomas Green
  • 1871 – Thomas Hocknell
  • 1881 – Elizah Hocknell
  • 1907 Herbert Hocknell
  • 1918 – Annie Hocknell
  • 1923 – Arthur Cresswell
  • 1946 – Clifford Cresswell
  • 1977 – Barry Manifold
  • 1980 – Kenneth Moulton
  • 1983 – Ronald Lightfoot
  • 1995 to the present date – Allen and Grace Smith